Saturday, August 12th, 2017
Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award
Artereal Finalists

Congratulations to Shoufay Derz and Anna Carey, both of whom have been announced as finalists in the 2017 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award.

This year the Gold Coast City Gallery has selected thirty-five finalists for The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2017, Queensland’s richest prize for contemporary Australian photography.

The well-regarded art prize attracted entries from some of Australia’s best contemporary and emerging artists with finalists chosen by a judging panel including Gold Coast City Gallery Director, Tracy Cooper-Lavery and Chris Saines, CNZM, Director of Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA).

The finalists for 2017 are Melissa Anderson, Dane Beesley, Scott Belzner, Fabrice Bigot, Polly Borland, Tammy Boyce, Aaron Bradbrook, Madeleine Burke, Anna Carey, David Chatfield, Dale Collier, Sean Coyle, Gerwyn Davies, Donna Davis, Shoufay Derz, Jeremy Drape, Merilyn Fairskye, Liss Fenwick, George Fetting, Ursula Frederick & Katie Hayne, Natalie Grono, Nina Hanley, Lee Harrop, Petrina Hicks, Jon Lewis, Tim Levy, Abbey McCullock, Danie Mellor, Helen Okey, Camille Serisier, Darren Sylvester, Hiromi Tango, Linda Wachtel and Emma Wright.

All finalists artwork will be displayed in The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2017 exhibition at Gold Coast City Gallery from 9 September to 22 October, with the winner to be announced at the official exhibition opening on Friday 8 September 2017.

The winner of the acquisitive art prize will receive a $25,000 cash prize and the Gallery will also award up to $25,000 in acquisitions to a selection of finalists.

Anna Carey_Pink Flamingo_2017_Giclée print_86.7 x 130cm _Edition of 7.

Shoufay Derz, Unnamed landscape poems, 2016; pigment print on archival paper, 99 x 92 cm each or 198 x 184 as diptych, Edition of 5.

Anna Carey, Pink Flamingo, 2017, Giclée print, 86.7 x 130cm, Edition of 7.